Moose Jaw-Swift Current playoff history

In preparing for the first round of the WHL playoffs, we are breaking down the history of the match ups we will see.

1989 Swift Current BroncosWe are starting with the East Division bracket and the Moose Jaw Warriors and Swift Current Broncos. The two have played three times and Moose Jaw has a 2-1 series edge.

1989 Divison semi-finals: Swift Current 4 Moose Jaw 0

-Back in 1989, the Warriors and Broncos battled for the first time and the Warriors were swept by the buzz saw that was the ’89 Broncos. Led by Tim Tisdale and Sheldon Kennedy, Swift Current won all four games in sweeping the Warriors. They did not lose a single game in the WHL playoffs, en route to WHL and Memorial Cup championships. This was the one and only time the Broncos have hoisted the Memorial Cup.


1991 first round: Moose Jaw 3 Swift Current 0

-Two years later, the sixth-seeded Warriors got revenge by sweeping the third-seeded Broncos in three straight. Todd Johnson and Chris Schmidt led the way for Moose Jaw as they pulled off the upset. The Warriors lost in five games in the next round to the eventual Eastern Conference champion Lethbridge Hurricanes.

Jamie Lundmark

1999 first round: Moose Jaw 4 Swift Current 2

-The last time, before this year, that the two squads met up was the only time the series lasted past four games. The Warriors were the three seed and the Broncos were the four in the East Division bracket. Chad Hinz and future N.Y. Ranger and Calgary Flame Jamie Lundmark led the way for Moose Jaw. The Warriors then lost in the next round in five games to Prince Albert.





Brandon Rivers

Longtime Portland Winterhawks' blogger on I also write for SB Nation on the for the Seattle Sin Bin at Further, I have a Seattle-sports podcast over at Originally from the Portland area, now living in Seattle. Proud husband and Father.